Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, A. Edelman, E. Flaherty (Chair), A. Ford, V. Hayssen, A. Hope, K. Lucia-Simmons, M. Pardi, J. Reichard, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, J. Schieltz, K. Thorington, J. Willoughby.

Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select graduate and undergraduate students to be honored for their research in mammalogy, and to select travel grant recipients in two categories, early-career and student.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee welcomed no new members this year and did not lose any members.
- (2) From 10 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee awarded four graduate honoraria, each for \$2,000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to **Andrea Dechner-Sierra** (Michigan State University); the Elmer C. Birney Award to **Brett Jesmer** (University of Wyoming); the A. Brazier Howell Award to **Talisin Hammond** (University of California Berkeley), and the Annie M. Alexander Award to **Joshua Barry** (Pace University).
- (3) From 1 application the Committee awarded one undergraduate honoraria of \$1,000. The awardee is **Tara Pruett** (Louisiana State University Alexandria).

The Table below summarizes the recent history of honoraria applications, revealing the increase in the number of graduate applicants, especially master's students, but also the high inter-annual variability in the number of applications:

Year	Undergraduate	Masters	Ph.D.	Total Graduate
2008	2	0	5	5
2009	6	0	3	3
2010^{a}	2	0	5	5
2011	9	2	12	14
2012	1	1	9	10
2013^{b}	3	1	3	4
2014	3	0	4	4
2015	4	4	8	12
2016	3	6	12	18
2017	1	4	6	10

^afirst year of shorter GRAD application ^bfirst year of Alexander (MS) Award

(4) We were very pleased with the number and quality of applications in 2017, and will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria Program widely using multiple

communication platforms, including social media. With the help of the Sean Maher, the Informatics Committee Chair, we have continued to improve the Committee's webpage, and will continue to update it to provide clear instructions to applicants and to streamline the online submission process. We also extend special thanks to Cody Thompson, Program Committee Chair, for significant help with coordination of honorarium and travel awards application submissions.

(5) A total of 72 meeting attendees chose to have their abstracts evaluated for Travel Awards. This number represents a significant increase from the previous year but continued decrease from the 2015 (2013-140, 2014-94, 2015-121, 2016-53), which might reflect changes to the registration and abstract submission procedures for the Annual Meeting. One applicant who was receiving honoraria this year was removed from the competition.

The remaining 71 abstracts were divided into two categories for evaluation: early-career (10 abstracts vs. 7 in 2016, 20 in 2015, 11 in 2014 and 29 in 2013) and student (61 abstracts vs. 43 in 2016, 84 in 2015, 80 in 2014 and 109 in 2013). Of these applicants, 8 were from students supported by past Grants-in-Aid, 3 were past Fellowship winners, and 0 had received an Honorarium. Each abstract was reviewed by 6 committee members.

The original budget request to the Board was \$4,800 for early-career travel awards of \$600 each and \$10,000 for student travel awards of \$400 each. At the 2016 Annual Meeting the Board allocated an additional \$1,000 to early-career travel awards and \$2,000 for student awards. President Sikes contributed an additional \$500 and because we only awarded one \$1,000 undergraduate Honoria we used those remaining funds to cover 2 additional travel awards. Ultimately, these sources allowed the Committee to give 32 awards of \$400 to students and 9 awards of \$700 to early-career professionals, with the decision to increase the amount of the early-career awards reflecting the perceived lack of funding opportunities for this particular group and an attempt to attract more applicants. The complete list of recipients (9 early-career, 32 students) is provided on the following page. A total of 10 recipients (24% of awardees) had previously received a grant or award from ASM, indicating that we had some success in attracting previously supported students to participate in the Annual Meeting. The final funding rate for early-career and student travel awards was 90% (9/10) and 53% (32/61), respectively.

(6) The Committee is requesting a modest increase in the amount of the undergraduate honoraria from \$1,000 to \$1,200, to ensure that awards cover the increasing costs of attending the Annual Meeting. We are requesting continuance of the monetary value of the graduate honoraria and the travel awards last year, which allowed us to support a large number of students and early-career professionals.

Action Items:

(1)	\$ 8,000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria (Jackson, Howell, Birney, Alexander)
	\$ 2,400	2 * \$1200 for undergraduate honoraria (TENTATIVE)
	\$ 6,300	9 * \$700 for early-career travel awards
	\$12,000	30 * \$400 for student travel awards
	\$28,700	Total budget

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

First	Last	Institution/Organization	
Early Career	Lust	Institution of guinzution	
Kayce	Bell	National Museum of Natural History	
Patrice	Connors	University of Utah	
Angela	Hornsby	Virginia Tech	
Jason	Malaney	Austin Peay State University	
Verity	Mathis	University of Florida	
Silvia	Pavan	Museu Paraense Emilio Goeldi	
Roy (Neal)	Platt		
Lucy	Tran	Texas Tech University Liversity of Colifornia Borkeley	
Nathan Nathan	Upham	University of California, Berkeley	
Nathan	Орнаш	Yale University	
Students			
Cody	Aylward	University of Vermont	
Emily	Beasley	Missouri State University	
Deborah	Boro	University of New Mexico	
	Burkhard	University of Texas at Austin	
Tracy Marissa		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	
	Dyck	University of Wyoming	
Michael	Egan	Purdue University	
Samantha	Fino	West Virginia University	
Kimberly	Fisher	California State University Long Beach	
Brett	Ford	University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus	
Mariela	Gantchoff	Mississippi State University	
Jennifer	Grauer	University of Wisconsin- Madison	
Dana	Green	Northern Arizona University	
Grace	Griffiths	Northern Arizona University	
Michaela	Halsey	Texas Tech University	
Nathanael	Herrera	University of Montana	
Anne-Marie	Hodge	University of Wyoming	
Matt	Jones	University of Montana	
Carson	Keller	California State University, Northridge	
Schuyler	Liphardt	Museum of Southwestern Biology, University of New Mexico	
Jessica	Martin	Stanford University	
Charlotte	Milling	University of Idaho	
Clint	Perkins	Angelo State University	
Nelish	Pradhan	University of Vermont	
Beau	Rapier	Austin Peay State University	
Kelsey	Richards	Brigham Young University	
Alexandra	Shaffer	Angelo State University	
Erin	Siracusa	University of Guelph	
Lindsey	Smith	Austin Peay State University	
Mark	Swanson	Louisiana State University	

Hannah	Walker	California State University, Long Beach
Laurel	Yohe	Stony Brook University
Victor	Zhang	Northern Arizona University

Respectfully submitted, Liz Flaherty (<u>eflaher@purdue.edu</u>) 28 April 2017